5 Misconceptions Robbing You Of Confidence

It’s time to rewrite your own story.

James Michael Sama
10 min readDec 10, 2022

--

Confidence is an elusive beast. It appears to pick and choose its inhabitants at random, but always seems to pass over you in the selection process.

This is, after all, how I used to see it before I learned its core principles.

I used to think that confidence was magically bestowed upon certain people at birth, and they just “had it” for the rest of their lives.

While, for the rest of us, it had been missing from the list of ingredients in our own personal recipe.

Clearly, as anyone who knows me can tell, I no longer hold that belief. That’s because I learned that confidence is something that isn’t to be found, but to be created from within.

Something that we can choose for ourselves.

A skill, if you will, to be developed over time as we learn and grow.

Imagine, though, the hopelessness of feeling that confidence is simply a gift to be given (or not). This mindset puts you in the passenger seat of life, tacitly accepting whatever you are handed and taking your spot on the bench.

Believe me when I tell you that it doesn’t have to be that way.

--

--

James Michael Sama

I help you evolve into the ultimate version of yourself. Life & Executive Coach. Multi #1 writer. Trusted by: CNN, CNBC, NY Post, CBS, more. Say hi! @JamesMSama